Bad Oven.

My family and friends have always suggested that I make use and make something out of my baking hobby. And so after much thought, I decided to go all out and start accepting orders from friends. I can squeeze in a few orders every now and then. It’s not like I’m going big time in a zap. Just a small-time, homebaker. Yeah, that’s me. It can’t be that bad, right?

Timeless Vanilla with Dolphin Toppers

Now that it was settled, I was bursting with excitement! I created and launched my Facebook page on March 14, just a week before my birthday! I guess it was a blessing that I planned on celebrated it a day ahead because three/four days prior to my big day, I got messages from three individuals. I got a total order of 92 cupcakes! Wow! I was all smiles! I didn’t mind baking all day on my actual birthday. I love to bake! And  isn’t it wonderful that I got that much orders so soon? It’s going to be fun!

And it… WASN’T! Twenty minutes after loading the first batch of cupcakes, I found out my trusty oven, the one that never gave me any problems all these years, BROKE DOWN! Just when I needed it most… It gave up on me! I just couldn’t believe what was happening. I wish I can just tell my clients, “Oops! My oven broke down. Better luck next time!” But, no, that can’t be done. There’s always a way to get things done and, in my case, it involved going back and forth from my kitchen to my aunt’s (her house is just some meters away, about a minute or two). Having a whole bunch of family members who loves to cook is really a saving grace. Keeps you from starving, saves you from oven troubles. Blah.

Well, to cut the long story short, I was able to finish all 92 cupcakes at 4 AM. I guess Baker Street wanted to have a dramatic beginning. And, just as I mentioned – it can’t be that bad! Hah!

First three orders done with flyingcolors! 😀

59 Assorted Cupcakes

30 Assorted Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

